Aurora Colorado History

Aurora, Colorado, is the third largest city in the state and is known for its relaxing atmosphere, scenic views and beautiful scenery. In the 1970 "s, Aurora had more than 386,000 inhabitants, doubled in size, quadrupled in population (from 75,000 to about 339,500), and now covers 160 square miles. Aurora is Colorado's third largest city with a population of more than 1.2 million.

As of July 1, 2012, it had an estimated population of 2,645,209 and a population of 3,214,218. The city of Aurora has an excellent municipal golf course, the Aurora Golf Club, and is home to one of the largest golf courses in the United States. Aurora is Colorado's third-largest city with more than 1.2 million residents.

Aurora is also home to the Colorado Freedom Memorial, which was completed in 2013 and dedicated in May 2013. It includes the names of Colorado's deceased military veterans, each with the name of a fallen soldier and the date of their death, as well as the name of the city.

Aurora, CO was found to be the site of 29 historic earthquakes of magnitude 3.5 or higher, and 35 historic tornadoes of magnitude 2 or higher were found in and around Aurora, CO.

Between 1950 and 2010, a record number of extreme weather events and other weather extremes were recorded in and around Aurora, CO, and other parts of the state.

A popular exhibition, often revived, is called US-40: American Road Trip, which describes the journey other Americans took to Aurora in the Rockies. While the trailer (trailer # 610) is impressive in itself, there is also an exhibition called "Growing up at home" at the Colorado Museum of Natural History in Aurora.

Although Aurora is not listed as a location, the memorial park is actually located on the edge of southeast Denver, though most people still consider Aurora 2601 South Havana Street to be Aurora's 2601 (26010) Street. Aurora has about half the population of Denver and overtook Denver in land area in the 2000 census, but Denver-Aurora combined only accounts for about one-third of the county's total area. The eastern part of this county is mainly made up of rural areas such as Colorado Springs, Fort Collins and Aurora. While Denver is more fully built-up - outside - much of Aurora is undeveloped, and most of its residents live within a few miles, with the exception of a small portion of downtown Denver.

Aurora is growing at a rapid pace and is now the state's fourth largest city, and former Mayor Dennis Champine once expressed hope that the area would eventually be called Aurora - Denver Metropolitan Area. Dr. Shannon Banister recognized the need for an Aurora office, as Aurora became one of Colorado's fastest growing cities. Aurora has also entered Colorado's burgeoning marijuana business after being approved as the second-largest producer of medical marijuana in North America, after Colorado Springs.

That ended in 1974, when the Poundstone Amendment to the Denver State Constitution froze boundaries. Arapahoe County won the first round of the lawsuit, but ultimately couldn't stop Denver from annexing the property.

Buckley Air Force Base is currently in Aurora, responsible for what locals call "golf balls," and is by far Aurora's largest employer, employing more than 12,000 people. Aurora is now home to the Colorado Freedom Memorial, which was inaugurated in 2013 to honor Colorado military personnel who lost their lives in combat while serving their country. The Aurora Police Department and the Aurora Fire Department, as well as the Aurora Public Schools, are Aurora's largest employers.

Lowry Air Base was established in 1938 southwest of the city, and the building that now houses the Fox Arts Center was originally a facility at Lowry Air Force Base during World War II. The Aurora Police Department, the Aurora Fire Department, and the Aurora Public Schools were all built in 1918 in Aurora on the east side.

Colorado's cities fought mightily after the Silver Crash of 1893, and Aurora countered Denver's annexation campaign with its own, seizing more than 4,000 acres, targeting many more, and securing the coveted Cherry Hills School District. William Larimer Jr. founded Aurora Public Schools, one of the first public schools in Colorado. He put his commitment to the city of Aurora at risk in 1894 along with his wife and two sons, John and William.

Both Littleton and Aurora had to come up with their own water supply and move within the boundaries, eventually agreeing to buy and share additional water from the Colorado River, the state's largest source.

In 1907, out of anger and perhaps to blame the deserters, the townspeople decided to rename Fletcher's town "Aurora." In 1907, Aurora became the center of a four-square-kilometer prairie that is now located directly on the site of the new children's hospital. Arapahoe County covers about 1,500 acres of land that stretches east from the plateaus on Denver's southern edge through Rocky Mountain National Park to the Colorado River Valley.

More About Aurora

More About Aurora